Skip to content

Confession: I’m Almost 40 And Don’t Know What I Want To Be When I “Grow Up”

I recall, as a child being asked – “What do you want to be when you grow up?

When you’re small, the sky is the limit. I wanted to be a singer most of all but a paleontologist on the side. As I grew up and realized I wasn’t going to make it as a singer, my second option became a focus. BUT my challenges in school – science and math, not to mention the cost of that kind of education, quickly laid that dream to rest. I grew up in a small town with no career supports and no one encouraging me to be ambitious. Let’s be honest, the first goal was getting to “the big city” and figure it out from there.

I didn’t go to university or college in the end. I had amazing opportunities continuously fall into my lap, worked hard and ended up around people who believed in me. I got incredibly lucky with being able to provide for myself and now my family.


Now at almost 40 I’m asking myself the same question I was asked as a child.

What do I want to be when I “grow up

If I don’t know now, how in the heck did people expect me to know at 16 or 17? Am I just going through a mid-life crisis? Is that still a thing? The difference now of course is I more or less know what I am good at. I know what I enjoy. And don’t get me wrong, I do really like my current job but do I see myself doing it until I retire? I don’t know.

Considering you spend a good chunk of your life at work, I feel like you should love getting up in the morning to go. Or is that just a pipe dream? I know every job has good times and bad times, that’s life. I just find myself questioning if I could be doing more? Enjoying more?

In a lovely twist of fate, I actually came across an event in Edmonton on October 24th that I’m hoping will guide me a bit – Manifesting Your Next Move 

I’d love to hear your thoughts on this? Am I the only almost 40 year old woman going through this?

Wish me luck 😊

Chris is one of the only mama’s with a “day job”. Mom of 2, a 7 & 9 year old, she works as a Receptionist for a locally owned auto body shop. She loves cider, hanging out with good people and writing about her feelings. She currently resides in our Capital City, however she grew up on a farm north east of the city and never forgets her farm girl roots.